Sign in to follow this  
Dissei

Help Rotation SP

Dissei    0

Hi, im new in this class and actually i don't know if im doing good rotation or not.

My rotation is this

Start boss: Vampiric Touch > Shadow Word > Devouring plage > Mind Blast > Mind Fly

With DoTs: Vampiric Touch > Devouring plage > Mind Blast > Mind Fly until need renovate Vampiric and Plage.

In most dungeons Im the last DPS (tank usually win me xD) doing about 2k in boss with 3.1 gs.

So my question is.... SP is bad in this patch? or just im bad? xD

Thx.

KimmoKM    36

Here's the Elitistjerks guide for Shadow from Archive.org, including the opening sequence. The idea behind those opening sequences is to get full stacks of Shadow Weaving before casting SW:P that is then refreshed (with that damage bonus) with Mind Flay.

However, this is from raiding context in which bosses don't drop in half a minute or less so the value of this sort of theorycrafting knowledge is questionable (and, of course, you might have full stacks from trash to begin with). Not having checked (or played shadow priest for a while), my intuition has it that devouring plague ticks higher than SW:P so it probably should take priority over SW:P. Moreover, I believe your DoTs would have to be able to tick thrice (for devouring plague, twice, due to its initial damage component) for them to be worth reapplying: trying to play "by the book" like that might not be the best on such short fights and damage done on 5-man ""bosses"" often comes down to getting one extra ability in before the boss dies (if it wasn't for SW: Death doing the same thing but better, you'd be hitting them with Devouring Plague just to get that one extra bit of instant damage, just like demo/affliction locks might cast Shadowflame as their sole source of instant damage even though it hits for fifth of Soul Fire or execute phase Drain Soul tick). As for trash, this is WotLK so you press the AoE button. Mind Sear is definitely the way to go with three targets.